The Face of Courage: Update 3

Update  3:

day-4

Here you can see that I’m working on her clothes and scarf. I like to lay in the highlights so that I can see where the shadows are. I’ve  lightened behind the door but I still  don’t think it is light enough so I will continue to lighten it.

While I was working on her eyes I decided to  further the symbolism that I had established but using cool colors behind the door and put  cool blue highlights in her eyes. There is goodness and peace  in turning to God and you  can see that same goodness in this old woman’s eyes. The rest of the painting is all done in warm colors as w’a way of showing her anger and resolve. You can’t see her gestures or hear the tone in her voice so I needed to find some way to show her righteous indignation towards the actions of the Isis fighters and Isis as a whole.

While I was working I found suddenly that it was  becoming hard to paint because this wonderful old soul  seemed to be watching me as if she wanted to tell me something. It was as if a  bit of her spirit had somehow gotten caught up in the painting and was speaking to me. When the kids got back from school and showed what I had been working on we were surprised to discover that no matter where you stand this woman of courage seems to be looking at you.

Leave a comment